Guided Learning Allocations

Choosing Courses

When you are choosing your subjects you should think about subjects that you enjoy and those which make a sensible combination for your chosen career or entry into higher education. Studying in Post 16 is demanding and therefore you will need to have been successful at GCSE level. There is an expectation that you will need to regularly work at home and will therefore need to be committed to your courses and motivated to succeed.

Our subjects are offered across 4 blocks with students selecting 3 subjects.  A number of our most popular subjects appear in more than one block allowing a wider range of choice for the student.

Entry Requirements

To study BTEC or Cambridge Technical courses you will need to have achieved 5 grade 4s or better at GCSE. To study A Levels you will need to have achieved 5 grade 4s or better at GCSE (as well as achieving at least grade 4 in GCSE English and mathematics). In some subjects there are more specific entry requirements. These are indicated under each subject in the A-Z subject overviews.

A Levels

All A Levels will be a two year course with all examinations taken at the end of the two years of study.

Vocational Courses 

These courses are designed to provide work-related qualifications. They give you knowledge, understanding and skills that can prepare you for employment or higher education. BTEC courses are graded as pass, merit, distinction and distinction*. All BTEC courses have a mixture of coursework and examination units. 

Re-sitting GCSE English and mathematics

These are compulsory if you do not have a 4 or better already.  These courses are studied alongside your three A Levels.  You will have the opportunity to sit the examination in the Autumn exam season and the Summer exam season.